Help us promote Lemnos' link to Anzac - Make a donation now

Our Committee is raising funds to create a lasting legacy telling the story of Lemnos' link to Gallipoli and Australia's Anzac story. Our projects include the Lemnos Gallipoli Memorial in Albert Park, the publication of a major new historical and pictorial publication and more. To make a donation you can also deposit directly by direct debit into the Committee's bank account: Account Name: Lemnos Gallipoli Commemorative Committee Inc; Bank: Delphi Bank; Account No: 204299-020 BSB No: 941300; Include your surname in the reference section. For further information on our legacy projects or to make a donation please contact either Lee Tarlamis 0411553009 or Jim Claven 0409402388M

Thursday, 1 March 2018

2018 Scholarship and Awards Presentation - Nurses Memorial Centre

It was a great evening at the Nurses Memorial Centre (NMC) at the Presentation of Scholarships and Awards. The President Dr Elizabeth Lavender warmly welcomed guests and Dr Beverley Wood, the Chair of the NMC Scholarship Committee commented on the difficulty that the judges had in selecting the finalists for the scholarships as the standard of the applicants was very high.
The NMC offers a number of scholarships to exceptional candidates, such as nurses and midwives, undertaking postgraduate study at an Australian University or accredited higher education institution. The purpose of these scholarships is to increase access to postgraduate study for nurses and midwives as part of the NMC’s mission to act as “a living memorial” by advancing the nursing profession through education.

The Award recipients are as follows:
  • The Anne Murray Mental Health Scholarship - Miss Eliza Otte - Graduate Diploma in Mental Health Nursing RMIT University
  • Indigenous Scholarship - Miss Chloe Reid - Master of Advanced Nursing Practice University of Melbourne
  • Prince Henry’s Affiliates Scholarship -  Mrs Catherine Halmarick - Certificate in Allied Health Professionals Ultrasound Australasian Society for Ultrasound in Medicine
  • The Australian Legion of Ex-Servicemen and Women Scholarships: Miss Amy Grant - Graduate Certificate Nursing (Emergency Care) Latrobe University;Ms Kylie Kidner - Master of Nursing Practice (Nurse Practitioner) Charles Darwin University; Miss Lindsay Scudder - Master of Advanced Nursing Practice University of Melbourne
  • The Nurses Memorial Centre Vivian Bullwinkel Award - Mrs Monica Schoch PhD - Point of Care Ultrasound in Haemodialysis Access Deakin University
  • Nurses Memorial Centre Betty Jeffrey Award - Ms Abha Somesh - Master of Nursing Practice (Critical Care) Deakin University
The Indigenous Scholarship was introduced this year for the first time. It was made possible by generous donations to the NMC which recognises the contribution of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses to the health and well-being of the community. The NMC is pleased to offer this Indigenous Scholarship for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nurses undertaking postgraduate Nursing Studies at an Australian University or other accredited higher education institution.
Arlene Bennett Vice President of the NMC and Lemnos Gallipoli Commemorative Committee Member presented the Prince Henry's Affiliates Scholarship.
Following the Awards Presentation, we heard from Mr Paul Gardner, RN, MN Gerontic (res) - Recipient of the 2016 Australian Legion of Ex-Servicemen and Women Scholarship.
Congratulations to all the recipients of the Awards and Scholarships and we wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

Christina Despoteris
Vice President
Lemnos Gallipoli Commemorative Committee

No comments:

Post a Comment